General Election Candidates 2020

The Johnstown Community is part of the Meath West constituency and in 2020, there are 9 candidates asking for your vote on Saturday 8th of February.

The election hopefuls that Meath West constituents have to choose from are as follows.

  • Shane Cassells – Fianna Fáil
  • Peader Tóibín – Aontú
  • Damien English – Fine Gael
  • Sarah Reilly – Fine Gael
  • Noel French – Fine Gael
  • Ronan Moore – Social Democrats
  • Seamus McMenamin – Green Party
  • Johnny Guirke – Sinn Féin
  • John Malone – Renua

Please inform yourselves with the issues that affect you and your community and use your vote wisely.

Your vote – Your voice – Your community – Your future

Election Candidates 2019

Here is an exhaustive list of local and european election candidates standing in our area. Some brief profile information will be published shortly on candidates and it will be highlighted on this website which of these candidates support a modern day poster free election campaign. This website will not be be used to canvass for any particular candidate. The publication of information such as those candidates in support of a poster free campaign and other activities that benefit our community and local area will be for the sole purpose of providing an update for community members and residents.


  • Seamus McMenamin – Green Party
  • Cllr. Tommy Reilly – Fianna Fáil
  • Cllr. Padraig Fitzsimons – Fianna Fáil
  • Madeline Thornton – Fianna Fáil
  • Jenny McHugh – Fianna Fáil
  • Yemi Adenuga – Fine Gael
  • Karen Byrne – Fine Gael
  • Ross Kelly – Fine Gael
  • Cllr. Francis Deane – Independent
  • Cllr. Wayne Forde – Independent
  • Alan Lawes – Independent
  • Stephen Ball – Independent
  • Amy McGrath – Social Democrats
  • Emer Tóibín – Aontú
  • Cllr. Sinéad Burke – Sinn Féin
  • Cllr. Edward Fennessy – Sinn Féin


  • Mairead McGuinness- Fine Gael
  • Maria Walsh – Fine Gael
  • Brendan Smith – Fianna Fáil
  • Anne Rabbitte – Fianna Fáil
  • Matt Carthy – Sinn Féin
  • Dominic Hannigan – Labour
  • Saoirse McHugh – Green Party
  • Cyril Brennan – People Before Profit
  • Michael O’Dowd – Renua
  • Patrick Greene – Direct Democracy Ireland
  • Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan – Independent
  • Peter Casey – Independent
  • Dilip Mahapatra – Independent
  • Fidelma Healy Eames – Independent
  • James Miller – Independent
  • Diarmaid Mulcahy – Independent
  • Olive O’Connor – Independent

Johnstown Tidy Towns win Endeavour Award in 2018

Johnstown Tidy Towns have entered the national Tidy Towns competition on two occasions (2017 & 2018). The results achieved in 2018 represented a 6% improvement on the previous year. This achievement was recognised by the Endeavour award that was presented to Johnstown Tidy Towns this year. The 2018 report is available here.

Johnstown Tidy Towns urgently require volunteers to help continue this momentum. The committee has identified a number of current and possible future projects, however ideas and suggestions from the wider community are always very welcome.

If you could provide some time to help Johnstown Tidy Towns, please email, contact them through the Facebook page or come along to their next activity.

Johnstown Times online magazine launched

Sunday 2nd of April saw the launch of the Johnstown Times, an online community magazine published by local resident Robin Marshall. The first edition includes contributions from a number of Johnstown residents and competition prizes have been kindly sponsored by local businesses.

Click here to read the first edition of the Johnstown Times.

Welcome to Johnstown Community

Hello and welcome to As this site grows, it aims to become a hub or one stop shop for news, community updates, and local information with regard to where to eat, sleep, things to do, and opportunities relevant to residents.

Comments, questions, and friendly hellos are welcome by emailing hello [at] [dot] com or by completing the contact form on the foot of the website.